the process of becoming

a blog for twenty-somethings trying to navigate the world and follow your dreams

“the process of becoming”

Leave a comment

be who you are

(image via Pinterest)

You may be wondering what my blog’s name means. When I first starting thinking about starting up this blog again, I had to decide why I wanted to do it, who it was going to be for, and what the purpose of it will be.

I already knew I that I enjoy reading articles on websites like RelevantThought Catalog, and Gen Twenty, a few online communities that write for my generation. I’ve been putting a lot of thought into why these articles circulate so much. We find them funny, encouraging, and identifiable because we relate to them so well.

It was then that I knew I had to write to twenty-somethings like me. Graduating high school and embarking into the big unknown is a scary thing, whether one goes to college, finds a job right away, or spends forever trying to decide what they want to do. We’re faced with singleness, relationships, friendships, opportunities, rejections, networking, and plain figuring out what it means to be a “grown up.”

Frankly, that’s a LOT to relate to, a lot to experience, and a lot to write about. When I was super ambitious my first year of college and told my professors I wanted to graduate in two years, one told me I needed to get outside campus and experience more life before I would really know what I wanted to do. Before I knew what I wanted to write about. I needed to travel, to experience loss, to realize what the world has and doesn’t have to offer. (He was right! I want to write memoir and autobiographical creative writing, which can’t really happen at 22, haha).

I may be in my early twenties, but I feel like I’ve experienced so much already while still realizing I have a long way to go. I am still becoming an adult. No, actually I am just growing older. And hopefully wiser. “Becoming” is also is an adjective meaning “attractive appearance,” or “suitable” (Dictionary.com). “Become,” for me, means “to grow.”

I hope that this process of growing and becoming more of who I am can be beautiful and also humorous in its own way, and that it is also encouraging to everyone else going through this journey.

“It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” – e.e.cummings

Author: Wallsah

I'm a not-your-average 20-something creative, writer, editor, and thankful wife. I drink books as much as coffee and bask in the sound of rain.

Leave a Reply

